The Dunyazad Digital Library

About the Library

The Reading Room

The Audio Wing

Support the Library

Other Stuff ...

Mara Samsara

Zäh und Dunkel

Download plain text file – release 1.2

Download PDF file – release 1.2 – 54 Seiten

Download ePub file – release 1.2

Download Mobi file – release 1.2

Go to the English page for the English translation

Mit dem Fall der Lande war der Handel zum Erliegen gekommen. Einzig die wenigen Flüchtenden, die der Dunkelheit bislang zu entkommen vermocht hatten, trafen noch hier ein und begehrten Einlass. Hier fühlten sie sich in Sicherheit. Diese Narren. Dachten sie fürwahr, Holz und Stein würden die Schrecken abhalten können?

Nein, hier geht es nicht um eine Epidemie, die Geschichte wurde vor dem Auftreten von Covid-19 geschrieben. Hier geht es um Dunkelheit, die mehr ist, als die Abwesenheit von Licht. Jene Dunkelheit, die in jedem von uns lauert, auch wenn wir ihrer nicht gewahr sind.

---

Mara Samsara

Die Autorin wurde rund um 1990 in einen unbedeutenden Flecken dieser Erde hinein geboren. Nach Abstechern in einige Ecken Europas lebt sie nun an einem Ort, der für sich in Anspruch nimmt, kosmopolitisch und aufgeklärt zu sein, und dies in einigen Dingen vielleicht sogar tatsächlich ist.

Das Pseudonym Mara Samsara ermöglicht der Autorin, Gedanken und Geschichten (auch abseits der Dunyazad Digital Library) zu veröffentlichen, deren Zuschreibung zu ihrem Klarnamen die Gesellschaft nicht billigen würde. Die Autorin widmet sich Ängsten, Begierden, Schmerzen und Leidenschaften, Tabus und Hoffnungen, die die Wenigsten in sich selbst zulassen wollen und denen sie doch nicht entrinnen können. Wie so viele Werke, entspringt auch ein Gutteil der Texte Mara Samsaras persönlichen Erfahrungen, die sie – neben einem ungesunden Maß an Selbstreflexion – durch Schreiben zu verarbeiten versucht.

Lesen heißt, in Gedankenwelten anderer zu wandern. Auch wenn Mara Samsara nicht mehr weiß, wem dieser Aphorismus zuzuschreiben ist, so anerkennt sie seine Wahrheit. Ihre Texte versteht sie dabei als Annäherung an die Realität. Der wahre Schmerz, die echte Begierde existiert nur im Augenblick. Und doch gibt sich Mara Samsara dem Ideal hin, mit bloßen Worten zu erfassen, was dem Geiste vorbehalten ist.

Die Autorin ist unter mara-samsara@gmx.ch gerne für einen Gedankenaustausch bereit. Insbesondere hinsichtlich jener Gedanken, die den dunklen Wirrungen des Geistes entspringen.

---

Two stories by Mara Samsara in English can be found here:

rc-smith.net/mara

---

Back to the Reading Room

The Dunyazad Digital Library

About the Library

The Reading Room

The Audio Wing

Support the Library

Other Stuff ...

Mara Samsara

Dark and Viscous

Download plain text file – release 1.0

Download PDF file – release 1.0 – 49 pages

Download ePub file – release 1.0

Download Mobi file – release 1.0

Deutsch – Go to the German page for the German original

With the fall of the lands, trade had come to a standstill. Only the few fugitives, who still had managed to escape the darkness, arrived here and sought entry. Here they felt safe. Those fools. Did they really think that wood and stone might keep the horror out?

No, this is not about an epidemy, this story was written before Covid-19. This is about a darkness which is deeper than the absence of light. That darkness that lurks within each one of us, even if we are not aware of it.

---

Mara Samsara

The author was born around 1990 into an insignificant spot on this earth. After detours to several corners of Europe she now lives at a place which claims for itself to be cosmopolitan and enlightened, and which, in some ways, may actually be.

The pseudonym of Mara Samsara makes it possible for the author to publish thoughts and stories (also outside of the Dunyazad Digital Library) whose attribution to her real name society would not meet with approval. The author deals with fears, desires, pains and passions, taboos and hopes, which few would admit in themselves, but from which nonetheless they can not escape. Like so many other works, a major part of Mara Samsara’s texts have their sources in personal experiences, with which — next to an unhealthy amount of self-reflection — she tries to deal by writing.

To read means to wander within the minds of others. Even if Mara Samsara doesn’t remember to whom this aphorism has to be attrib­uted, she acknowledges its truth. Her texts she understands as an approximation to reality. True pain, genuine desire, exist only in the moment. And yet Mara Samsara devotes herself to the ideal of grasp­ing with mere words what exclusively belongs to the mind.

Under the address mara-samsara@gmx.ch the author is willing to engage in exchanges of ideas. Particularly regarding those ideas which arise from the dark confusions of the mind.

---

Two more stories by Mara Samsara can be found here:

rc-smith.net/lounge/mara

---

Back to the Reading Room